• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • HighStrung

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Feb 5, 2010
    Pendleton
    So, I'm starting the planning stages of my first AR build. Fact: I've never even shot one to this point, but I plan on getting my hands on several different ones before I start buying anything so that I have a better understanding of what I really want. I doubt I'll be able to shoot any SBR's but have several options for putting rounds thru some AR's.

But my question is, should I consider building a SBR for my first AR, or stick with something full-length? I'm new to NFA (and AR's) and have been doing a little research, and I understand the process/tax, etc. It's something that I'm interested in regardless of whether or not it's this particular build. I just don't know which direction to start researching more. Any help would be appriciated, thank in advance INGO.

redneckmedic

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 20, 2009
    Greenfield
    I don't understand the SBR thing, don't hate, just don't get it. I would not discourage from going NFA though. Build the rifle you will love and shoot! Don't build a safe queen! Why not build a fun shoot and looker then put a can on it?

in812

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 88.9%
    8   1   0
    Apr 3, 2008
    well it depends if you plan on keeping it forever used sbr's are hard to sell but fun to shoot !
    I have sbr in 9mm and 223 if you want to shoot one sometime

Aszerigan

Whitetail Trading Co.
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    390   0   0
    Aug 20, 2009
    Bean Blossom, IN
    +1 for Shooter521 on this. The rule for AR's - "Buy your first, build the rest." Besides, having a manufactured AR platform will let you get more familiar with it without having to buy the stamp. You may decide you like 7.62x39, .308, etc, better than 5.56, and you won't be stuck with an SBR that you can't sell.

loony1

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0