• ...and so much more!
  • T-DOGG

I'm Spicy, deal with it.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 99.6%
    267   1   0
    Feb 4, 2011
    New Haven
    I bought this rifle a week or two ago and finally made it to the range today. I am very impressed with this rifle, it far exceeded my expectations. I had zero failures, including zero magazine failures (admittedly smoothed some of the mag inside edges with 1000 & 2000 grit sandpaper prior to today for good measure). I am not an expert rifleman nor will I ever claim to be and I realize there is always room for improvement. But for an off the shelf $400 rifle, a $200 scope, $30 rings, and with absolutely nothing else done I think the results are pretty good using off the shelf ammo. Here is a quick rundown of the setup:

- Ruger American Predator .308 -
    18" Threaded Barrel - medium contour (definitely heavier than the standard American series)
    Adjustable trigger set to lightest pull weight
    Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 BDC Scope
    Warne Maxima Rings (low height)
    Shot off leather bags/rests on the front and the rear of the rifle.
    Distance was 100yds at Roush Lake range in Huntington today.

Ammo used and best 3-shot group notated:
    Federal 180gr Power Shok soft point ( 0.4845" )
    Fusion 165gr soft point ( 2.417" )
    Perfecta 150gr soft point ( 0.678" )
    Perfecta 147gr FMJ ( 2.432" )
    ZQI 147gr FMJ (7.62x51 M80) ( 4.062" )

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

Last edited:

SSGSAD

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Dec 22, 2009
    Town of 900 miles
    Ammo used and best 3-shot group notated:
    Federal 180gr GameShok soft point ( 0.4845" )
    Fusion 165gr soft point ( 2.417" )
    Perfecta 150gr soft point ( 0.678" )
    Perfecta 147gr FMJ ( 2.432" )
    ZQI 147gr FMJ (7.62x51 M80) ( 4.062" )

I shoot about a 4" group, at 200 yards....