• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • runandgun44

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 1, 2010
    Hi, I searched and searched but could not find much info on this subject so I'm putting it to you experts.

I just started shooting steel matches this summer and getting my feet wet in USPSA. With this in mind, I started loading my own ammo so I can shoot more without breaking the bank.

Still new at this and I've seen where you can buy cast bullets for almost half the price of FMJ so here's my questions to those of you with experience in this.

1. Do you notice cast bullets shooting any different?(accuracy)
    2. Do they have any negative effects on feeding or function of a semi auto? (Right now I am shooting a SR9 9mm)
    3. Any problems in regards to effects on the barrel?
    4. Best grain in 9mm for steel and USPSA production div?

If I can produce more good functioning ammo for less $$$$ and not damage my firearm, I'm all for it. I would like some advice though before ordering thousands of bullets. Thanks in advance.

Joe Williams

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 26, 2008
    Hi, I searched and searched but could not find much info on this subject so I'm putting it to you experts.

I just started shooting steel matches this summer and getting my feet wet in USPSA. With this in mind, I started loading my own ammo so I can shoot more without breaking the bank.

Still new at this and I've seen where you can buy cast bullets for almost half the price of FMJ so here's my questions to those of you with experience in this.

1. Do you notice cast bullets shooting any different?(accuracy)
    2. Do they have any negative effects on feeding or function of a semi auto? (Right now I am shooting a SR9 9mm)
    3. Any problems in regards to effects on the barrel?
    4. Best grain in 9mm for steel and USPSA production div?