• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BogWalker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jan 5, 2013
    I need a machete for general woods clearing and brush work. Any recommendations?

Looking for something under $60, preferred American made. Is $60 too low for quality? If it is tell me I'll move up in price if it means additional quality.

If you have suggestions for other fixed blades that would do the job and fit the bill feel free to suggest. I have limited bladed tool knowledge so machete is kind of a broad term for large fixed blades in my vocabulary. Just something to hack trails and tall weeds with is really what I'm looking for.

Something that will last me a good number of years. Decided to stop messing around after I've found my $7 Wal-Mart machete can't cut paper. Funny actually, I got one of them about 4 years ago that did a decent job and had a serrated tip. Even the chincy machetes have gotten chincier!

Fergy35

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jul 9, 2008
    NE Corner of our gre
    Here you go -> Ontario Machetes USA Ontario's are good to go and you could get two for your price range.

If you decide to look to something other than US made check out Condor -> Condor Machetes
    I have a couple of theirs and they are quite good. Must be since ESEE uses Condor made blades for their machetes. Condors will come sharp while some brands ship them not fully sharp, for you to put the final edge on.

Tramontinas are supposed to be good for the price.

I find myself reaching for the Gerber brush trimmer the most often. It is actually made by Fiskars and found under both brands. Here is one on Amazon -> Gerber 31-000083 Gator Brush Trimmer - Amazon.com Mine actually has this style of handle on it ->Amazon.com: Fiskars 7860 Brush Axe: Patio, Lawn & Garden

buckstopshere

Master
    Rating - 100%
    93   0   0
    Jan 18, 2010
    Greenwood