• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 26, 2010
    So if one lives out in the county and wants to build a back yard range; does he need to apply for any permits or permissions? Second, just because I am new to IN, are there any laws prohibiting the carry of firearms within x feet of a school? I.e. hiking in the woods proximate to a school so on and so forth.
    Thanks in advance for the pro bono.

CountryBoy19

Grandmaster
    Rating - 91.7%
    11   1   0
    Nov 10, 2008
    Bedford, IN
    So if one lives out in the county and wants to build a back yard range; does he need to apply for any permits or permissions? Second, just because I am new to IN, are there any laws prohibiting the carry of firearms within x feet of a school? I.e. hiking in the woods proximate to a school so on and so forth.
    Thanks in advance for the pro bono.
    The first question depends on your locality (county/township etc have different regulations) but the general rule is that there is nothing required for a private range.

The 2nd question, while there is no "distance" requirement/law for schools, you cannot carry onto school property (except under a couple exceptions that are already discussed elsewhere) so just be certain that you're not on the school's property and you're GTG.

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    The first question depends on your locality (county/township etc have different regulations) but the general rule is that there is nothing required for a private range.