• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • noobert

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 25, 2010
    I am new to IN laws, and am utterly confused out of my mind. In IN, a private party selling either rifle and handgun does not have to go through a FFL? So its like you just meet them in the parking lot and exchange money/firearm? Also, for handguns, are private parties allowed to sell to over 18 but under 21's? sorry for the basic questions, but search is not finding me any answers. Thanks to all that answer!

techres

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    27   0   0
    Mar 14, 2008
    I am new to IN laws, and am utterly confused out of my mind. In IN, a private party selling either rifle and handgun does not have to go through a FFL? So its like you just meet them in the parking lot and exchange money/firearm? Also, for handguns, are private parties allowed to sell to over 18 but under 21's? sorry for the basic questions, but search is not finding me any answers. Thanks to all that answer!

Private party sales do not require an FFL or background check so long as both parties are IN residents.

The seller cannot knowingly sell to someone who is ineligible to buy.

The seller can sell a handgun to someone 18 years or older.

That is about it. No records, no nada.

Now, many people wish to apply their own requirements that are greater than the law for their own reasons (to protect against selling to a criminal and to protect against putting themselves in a legally awkward position), but that is a personal decision not a legal one.

Techres

P.S. I am not a lawyer, read the code yourself, talk to a real lawyer, etc. You get the point.

techres

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    27   0   0
    Mar 14, 2008
    Oh my goodness, Indiana is heaven! Thanks so much for the info