• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cubsfan1984

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 27, 2009
    Northwest Indiana
    I'm kinda new to guns ,only shot a few to be honest. I have a Taurus Millennium PT140PRO. I've been thinking about a 9mm. I checked out a Ruger SR9 not too long ago and it felt really nice in my hand. What are your opinions on say an SR9 compared to an XD. Based on recoil, reliability,etc. Thank you.

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    I've heard from more than one person that once you get past the horrendous trigger on the Ruger SR9 that they're absolutely wonderful pistols.

I've only "dry fired" the ruger, and it indeed felt like you were dragging a stick through several inches of gravel.

Can't say as far as recoil; but it's a fairly substantial pistol, and the 9mm cartridge isn't really known as having brutal recoil anyhow. So if you put a "mild" round into a "large" pistol, I would PRESUME that recoil is highly manageable.

I can guarantee that the recoil on it is much less than from your PT140.

If you like the way the SR9 felt in your hand, see if you can locate some CZ pistols and hold them, too.

-J-

Oh, and welcome aboard!

varmint101

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 1, 2009
    From the ones I've messed with the they are hit or miss with their trigger. Heavy pull has been the norm of the 5 I've tried, but 2 of the 5 felt much lighter. They could've just needed cleaning first as these were at gun shops. Seem like a nice pistol, but again I haven't shot them so don't know about reliability.

chasekerion4

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Here's my :twocents:.

And this is not a knock about indy_guy_77's post, as many guns have "long" or "bad" triggers.

However, since you've stated that you haven't shot many guns before, you won't know what is or isn't a bad trigger.