• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jeager361

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 2, 2013
    Fort Wayne
    I am new to reloading. Actually, have not yet made the jump into it, but I am planning to buy equipment and get started before long.

Can anyone clarify what the is the difference between small pistol and large pistol primers? Is there a rule of thumb as to which would be used for certain calibers? Or is it more dependent upon what type of powder you are going to use and in what amount?

rockhopper46038

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    89   0   0
    May 4, 2010
    Fishers
    The pocket for the primer that you find in the brass case for pistol ammunition is either sized "small" or "large". Once you look at a cartridge it'll make more sense to you, but in general the smaller centerfire pistol calibers (.40S&W, 9mm, .380) use "small" primers; the larger centerfire pistol calibers (10mm, .45ACP) use "large primers (although there is small primer .45ACP brass floating around). Your reloading manuals will specify the size of primer to be used, and sometimes will specify the particular primer a loading was tested with; but "small" and "large" refer to the pocket size, explicitly. This is a very simplistic answer and I'd recommend you read something like "The ABC's of Reloading", or the "Lee" reloading book (or even better, take a class from Andrew at Profire) before proceeding much further because the info I just gave is only safe if used with a certain amount of knowledge regarding the reloading process.

Slawburger

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 26, 2012
    Almost Southern IN
    Depends on the brass.

9mm takes small pistol primers.

Most 45 takes large pistol primers. Federal and Blazer made some with small primer pockets which is a pain when it gets mixed in with the normal .45 brass.

Mycroft

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 20, 2013
    Indianapolis area