• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bapak2ja

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 17, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    Anyone try this brand, caliber, or company? This is a great price, half of Sportman Guide, but if it sounds too good to be true . . .

Planning on testing an M1 Carbine. Opinions on that ammo in that rifle?

:popcorn:

BigMoose

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Apr 14, 2012
    Indianapolis
    Running steel case in firearms not designed for it is a good way to break extractors, wear feed ramps, and generally isn't good for something that is getting to be collectible.

kalboy

Master
    Site Supporter
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    71   0   0
    Jun 10, 2009
    S Indiana
    I had an IMI repro 30 M1 carbine, actually 2 of them. I started shooting the Wolf steel cased 30 carb ammo in them as soon as it arrived in country. It was the first caliber made with the poly coating in place of lacquer. I can't speak to long term high volume use but I did shoot 2500 rds thru one of mine and 4-500 in the other with no ill effects. Both guns functioned w/ 0 issues as far as feed, fire, eject as well.

Last edited:

ckcollins2003

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 29, 2011
    Muncie
    Running steel case in firearms not designed for it is a good way to break extractors, wear feed ramps, and generally isn't good for something that is getting to be collectible.

If your firearm parts are made of steel that is softer than the steel cases of Tula, you're going to have problems from anything you shoot due to the high pressure that a round puts out. In other words, you're believing various internet rumors from people who are too ignorant to actually shoot steel cased ammo, because the steel your firearm is made out of is harder than the soft steel of the case. Therefore, no, it will not break extractors, wear feed ramps, etc.