• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Meyer

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 6, 2013
    United States
    I searched and didn't find much. Maybe I am looking in the wrong forum?

Any opinions on 80% lowers for the AR? Billet Rifle Systems seems to get good reviews. What about Tactical Machining, those are much better priced than BRS.

Other brands anyone has experience with?

Thanks

Manatee

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jul 18, 2011
    Indiana
    If you're a machinist (professional or hobbyist), finishing a lower is a fun project. If you aren't, 100% lowers go for $50 to $100+. Try DOA Arms for good prices on Spike's.

Meyer

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 6, 2013
    United States
    I am an accountant who owns a machine shop on the side. I don't have the skills to machine one from a chunk of AL... my business partner does but he is too busy. I could get a few 80%'ers and do those though, plus trying to teach my kid basic machining.

Thanks for the reference, I'll check out DOA.

gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington
    If they come through, one day I will receive two lowers on a crowd fund I did. I am not holding my breath but if what they machine turns out good, I will sell them here on INGO.

I got tired of waiting and bought a 100% lower.

PKendall317

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 23, 2012
    Mooresville, IN
    I wouldn't bother with an 80% lower unless you knew or were a good, competent machinist. Also I think you may run into some legal issues with those if my understanding is correct. Don't they have to have a serial number stamped on them at some point?

gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington
    It's not difficult to do. Remember, you are only doing 20%. Some guys do it with a drill press.

Last edited:

remauto1187

Shooter