• ...and so much more!
  • Dobber

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 7, 2012
    Granger (South Bend)
    Hi All,
    I've been carrying concealed for several years now and I want to try out the open carry style. I have a few questions first, though.

1. Why would you want to open your gun? Wouldn't it take longer to re-assemble it before use?

2. Once you open your gun and have all the parts seperate, how do you carry them? Are there "part holsters" such that everything is not mixed up in my pocket?

3. I know that there is always drama associated with open carry but I don't understand that: I would think that an opened/disassembled handgun is much safer than one which is loaded and ready to fire.

4. If presented with a threat, what is the best draw technique: slow and nonchalant, slowly assembling like a small project and hoping the aggressor doesn't realize you have gun parts OR hurriedly putting the parts together while shouting obscenities and cursing the aggressor for slowing up the checkout line, etc?

5. One theme I keep reading is that people who open carry are "compensating." I assume this means for penis size but I'm not sure. Could you first clarify the context here and second explain how the ability to re-build your firearm under stress adds value to every day interactions?

6. I want a gun that is simple enough to assemble quickly BUT may confuse a perpetrator who gets a hold of the parts. I'd hate for someone to steal my weapon and be able to assemble it as quickly as I can.

Thanks all for your input. With such a supportive and invested community such as this I know that I won't go wrong.

-Dobber

P.S. I wanted to post this entire thread in purple but decided people would benefit from waiting until the post script to confirm my sarcasm. Have a great night!

Burnsy

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 6, 2012
    NW Indiana