• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • U.S. Patriot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 87.5%
    7   1   0
    Jan 30, 2009
    Columbus
    I only have experience with 22 bolt action rifles. I currently own two that I have scoped. Both are sited in at 50 yards. I do not hunt, I only target shoot.

1. Savage MKIIFV: heavy barrel, Burris rings, Bushnell banner 3x9x40 scope, and 3"-9" Shooters Ridge bi-pod
    2. Marlin 925R: factory mounted 3x9x32 scope, and 3"-9" Shooters Ridge bi-pod.

I just got into target shooting with scoped rifles last summer. So I'm still learning every time I go to the range.

I was thinking another Savage, but in a .22MWR. Same setup as my .22LR, but with different optics. I also do not have much knowledge about optics, but I have been pleased with the Bushnell Banner. I also know that many will tell you to spend just as much on optics, as you do the rifle itself.

Second choice would be a .223. I'm leaning toward a Savage, but I also like the Remington 700 Tactical. Have 0 experience with either one though.

The rifle would be used mainly for target shooting. The range I frequent only goes too 100 yards, so that's the range I would site it in at. I also am looking at it uses in a SHTF situation. For me it would be used for taking game at longer distances if need be. So would a .223 really be needed in all honesty? What is the maximum affective range of a .22MWR? Also cost is a factor. Seeing as .22MWR is cheaper, and I also already have a .22MWR so I'm already stocking up on ammo. Plus I could carry more .22MWR in my load out. Also cost of the rifle and optics.

Guess I'm just looking for advice, and opinions of those with more experience then me. Not only from a target shooters stand point, but also a hunters. So I can get ideas for limitations of game hunting between the two calibers. In a SHTF situation of course.

Thanks,
    Patriot :ingo:

Wabatuckian

Smith-Sights.com
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%