• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • velociraptor

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 30, 2015
    Jurassic Park
    Hello. Long time listener, first time caller.

I'm a newly minted AR owner and I've got a few questions about 'stuff'. I got the rifle, a decent optic, a couple pmags, and about 100 rounds, so I'm just starting out.

My questions are what are some good, inexpensive magazines? Are pmags the way to go, or is there a better alternative?

Also, what's a good rig to carry these magazines in? I don't really want to do the full monty of 8-9 magazines strapped all over my body at once, but I'd like to be able to do a couple reloads at least.

Lastly, slings. I've got one of these M4 Slings | Sling 101 from SPEC.-OPS that I got from Amazon. Is it sufficient, or, like the magazines, is there a better alternative comparably priced.

phylodog

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    59   0   0
    Mar 7, 2008
    Arcadia
    Hard to beat Pmags. Slings are very subjective, what works for one person might be a nightmare for someone else. I like the Vickers offerings and the Magpul MS slings offer some nice versatility.

Cameramonkey

www.thechosen.tv
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    May 12, 2013
    Camby area
    Personally I prefer surplus mags. I replace the follower with yellow anti tilt followers from Magpul.

jblomenberg16

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    67   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    Southern Indiana
    Welcome to the forum and to your new addiction!Great advice so far.

PMAGs are good to go, as are good condition surplus magazines. The recommendation to upgrade the follower is a good way to make sure those mags keep running well.