• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • meyer4589

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    38   0   0
    Feb 25, 2011
    Highland, IN
    I've been looking at picking up a Garand recently. I'm completely new to these having never fired one and I don't really know what to look for.
    I am looking for a quality shooter that i can be proud of, not something that's going to be a safe queen or something that's in pristine condition that I wouldn't be able to go out and enjoy shooting.

I would like to stay around 700-850 bucks 900 being my max on the high-end

Expat

Pdub
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Feb 27, 2010
    Michiana
    I got mine through the CMP like WZ linked too. I went over to Camp Perry so I could fondle and drool over the exact one I wanted. It is a great experience in person.

sgreen3

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    51   0   0
    Jan 19, 2011
    Scottsburg,In
    The M1 is my dream gun, my gf's dad has one. alot of fun to shoot. Hope to save up an add one to my military arms collection. Good luck on the purchase!

kedie

Master
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Jun 5, 2008
    Southeast of disorder.
    The CMP is the ONLY way to buy an M-1. You'll pay twice as much for one that's half as nice at a gunshow or store. I always walk around the 1500 and laugh at how much people want for beat up, less than rack grade Garands.

sloughfoot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Apr 17, 2008
    Huntertown, IN
    While you are at the CMP, be sure to ask about getting an "M1 Thumb".

I hear that a lot of M1 Garand owners have one, but I have never been able to find one.:)

anthony010

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Jan 3, 2009
    Westfield
    I have been looking at them too. I will probably go through the CMP too. hopefully around my birthday in may. A couple of guys have videotaped their experience at the CMP on youtube. just run a search.

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%