New guy Looking at Springfields. Look nice, why would I get a Glock over these?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 21, 2011
    After reading about how Glocks explode on people and have caused people to shoot themselves, I decided to check out SPRINGFIELD line.

Wow pretty guns! Im new to alot of jargon forgive me but...

I kind of am interested in a Sprinfield 4 inch barrel with extended grip/mag or a 3.5 inch barrel with extended grip/mag.

What is the real difference?

Should one go 40 45 or another caliber?

Prometheus

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 20, 2008
    Northern Indiana
    The first question is what do you want to do with it? Home defense? carry gun? Target shooting?

The only 4" model is a their "service" model and is considered a full size handgun. There isn't a factory extended mag or grip for it. The subcompacts do have that option available.

I have a preference for 9mm or .45acp. The .40 is, IMO a bogus round designed to answer a question one idiot bureaucrat asked.

The 4" XD is a great dual purpose handgun. Well suited for home/personal protection and also does equally well for target shooting.

I've found I'm generally as accurate with the subcompact XD as well.

The larger 5" tactical XD or XDM is a tad too big for daily carry IMO but they make nice beside handguns.

IndySSD

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Jun 14, 2010
    Wherever I can CC le