• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • fureater46902

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 31, 2010
    So I have always enjoyed the rare treat of squrrel from time to time when someone has it. I would like to go get my own tree rats. Has anyone gone hunting in missinawa for them? Also I have never gone hunting myself... so im looking for hunting etiquette and tips. I have firearms expierance and training but it has all been target and tatical shooting. I was planning to use a .22lr. Is that a good gun to use since the animal is so small? and where is the best place to shoot the animal (head, Lungs, or somewhere else). Thanks im a novice to hunting.

ELMO

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jan 24, 2009
    Kokomo, Indiana
    The .22LR is an excellent choice for squirrels and if your shot allows it, go for a head shot. I have hunted Mississinewa reservoir area many times and they have some squirrels there. A good time to go is early season with leaves on the trees and early morning. It is easy to just sit and wait for movement from squirrels heading for the nut trees and then you sneak up on them without being detected. So a little scouting helps in finding where the squirrels are feeding, during a certain time of the season. Look for Hickory, Oak, and Walnut trees and look for cuttings on the ground to see if squirrels are hitting that specific nut. Also early season don't forget your insect repellant... Above all, have fun out there....

Jack Ryan

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 2, 2008