• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Pmpkn8r

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 26, 2013
    Pendleton Area
    Hello! I'm fairly new to the forum, and met a few of you folks at a couple of the 1500's. I'm hoping for some advice.

I'm new to carrying in the civilian world. I have 15 years of military service, and if not carrying open tactical, I've carried concealed with a shoulder rig. Now that summer is here I'd like to carry IWB but I feel like my weapon of choice is forcing me to print a bit more than I want to.

I currently carry an XDM 4.5 in .45 ACP (and there's really nothing about it I don't love aside from summer CC). In the winter/fall I carry in a highnoon shoulder rig or carry OWB in another highnoon setup. But as it's getting warmer I find it's a bit harder to carry the way I have been. I dress accordingly for my wear, and don't have a problem buying clothes around the situation, but in this instance it's getting to be a bit much. I feel like I'm wearing shirts that are far too large and it just doesn't look right. I'm not against buying another weapon if need be, so I'm looking for options. Now that you know what I'm most familiar with.

What I want is a .45 ACP with as many rounds as possible, as slim as possible, whatever that may be. With what I've been shooting, and renting, I am pretty confident that I need to be looking at a single stack,

I'm NOT a Glock guy. I don't like how they feel in my hand. And I didn't care for the ones I've shot.

I've shot an XDS .45, and I liked everything about it aside from just how aggressive the grip was, and how tight I could get the group with some rapid fire drills. I put about 200 rounds through one. I believe it's a matter of barrel length keeping me from really keeping it tight. I could keep it all in the target, but it wasn't consistent enough for me to be happy.