• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jblomenberg16

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    67   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    Southern Indiana
    Awesome shockwave indeed! I'm assuming the blue plasma looking "flame" behind it is from the heat generated by the electromagnetic launch as well as the mach 5 velocity?

I'm a mechanical engineer, so using explosives to launch projectiles makes good sense to me. All this electro-magnetic magic is where I get a little foggy. :D

Scutter01

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    Awesome shockwave indeed! I'm assuming the blue plasma looking "flame" behind it is from the heat generated by the electromagnetic launch as well as the mach 5 velocity?

I'm a mechanical engineer, so using explosives to launch projectiles makes good sense to me. All this electro-magnetic magic is where I get a little foggy. :D

The photo is four years old and it's from the EM railgun demonstrator at the lab where it was developed, not from the prototype being delivered to the Navy this week. I don't know what the blue flame is. Railguns generate a TON of heat, though, so it wouldn't surprise me if it were contaminants on the round burning off.

Here's a reverse-angle shot of (I think) the same cannon all but destroying itself when the round is fired:

http://www.gizmag.com/us-office-of-naval-research-electromagnetic-railgun/11035/

GodFearinGunTotin

Super Moderator
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 22, 2011
    Mitchell

Meh...think about starting an electric motor...it's just like that, but instead of spinning around an axis, it goes in a straight line....but very, very fast.

jve153

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 14, 2011
    bargersville, in