• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hrearden

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Feb 1, 2012
    Ok guys, Ive decided I really want to get into classes that will up my skills with machine tools and also get into CNC operation. I graduated Colorado School of Trades with a degree in gunsmithing back in 2008 and breaking into that field (doing actual gun work) has been next to impossible without ones own tools and the skills to use them. I did well at the machining tasks asked of me while I attended class, but I have not done any work like that since and my skills are sorely lacking. I was wondering who on this forum has taken machining/CNC classes in the Indy area (Boone County would be even better) and where they recommended I take classes. Also, if anyone has a good source of used machine tools, that would be greatly appreciated. I probably wont be ready to buy anything until June or so, but I would like to know where to start shopping.

pinshooter45

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 1, 2009
    Indianapolis
    Check out IVY Tech. Only about $120 a credit hour and you do not have to get a degree. You can just take the classes you want, or seek a certificate, or an asso degree. They have a pretty good machining program, almost did that before I went with IT graduating this past may.

cedartop

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 25, 2010
    North of Notre Dame.
    pinshooters advice may be your most realistic bet. What would be better but maybe hard to do is find a part time job in a Tool and Die/Machine shop. You would learn a ton this way. The problem with that is the trade has changed so much that they just don't teach the same way anymore and you are expected to produce right away so it would be tough to find someone who would take you on.

pinshooter45

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 1, 2009
    Indianapolis