• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sdbran01

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 11, 2012
    I've recently purchased a M&P AR-15 and I'm new to AR platforms. Does anyone regularly shoot steel cases through there M&P or should I stick to Brass?

Tydeeh22

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    32   0   0
    Mar 7, 2012
    Indiana
    i agree theres nothing wrong with steel casd ammo.
    besides the increased chance of a stuck case? the steel doesnt expand like a brass case does. therefore carbon gets in-between said steel case and chamber, causing problems. the softer brass expands fully making that a non-issue.

youll get a stuck bolt running steel long before you do running brass. but then i guess that depends on how much you intend on shooting the rifle / designated purpose.

jd4320t

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Oct 20, 2009
    South Putnam County
    I was once in a carbine class where I saw five out of eleven AR's jam while using steel cased ammo. I know for a fact two of them were Spikes and one was an M&P.

ckcollins2003

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 29, 2011
    Muncie
    besides the increased chance of a stuck case? the steel doesnt expand like a brass case does. therefore carbon gets in-between said steel case and chamber, causing problems. the softer brass expands fully making that a non-issue.

youll get a stuck bolt running steel long before you do running brass. but then i guess that depends on how much you intend on shooting the rifle / designated purpose.

Carbon builds up in that same spot with all ammo. This is the reason you clean your rifle. Also, have you ever measured the expansion difference between a steel case and a brass case? Or are you just repeating the usual hearsay?