• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 19, 2013
    miami county
    Im fairly new to bigger calibers and stuff and I'm in need of advice. Im looking for something to shoot at least a couple hundred yards but also fairly light weight out of the box. I will do upgrades over time but don't want to have to upgrade everything before i can get good range time in with the rifle. Ive been looking at Remington 700 in a .308 but i haven't held one yet so not sure how heavy it is. I will be doing most firing from a bench but want something comfortable to shoulder and shoot upright. Thanks in advance for any help

42769vette

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Oct 6, 2008
    south of richmond in
    You really dont need anything special for what your talking about. If your wanting to upgrade it I would go with the 700, or the savage.

Outside of that about anything including a 22lr will work for target shooting out to a couple hundred yards.

cubbetm

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    41   0   0
    Mar 10, 2013
    yup nothing long range about a couple hundred yards. just get a good scope and a 700 or savage.

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 19, 2013
    miami county
    well thats to begin and learn would like to shoot a 1000 but that sounds mighty ambitious for me at the moment heck just relearning to shoot since my accident has been hard enough but thanks for the input i think the 700 is going to be my choice

IndyGunworks

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Feb 22, 2009
    Carthage IN
    Take a look at my .270 in the classifieds. Ill even throw in a .308 varmint BBL if you want. It will fit your criteria even if its not one of the nato calibers.

Niles Coyote

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 20, 2013
    S.W. Michigan