• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SmileDocHill

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    61   0   0
    Mar 26, 2009
    Westfield
    How significant is the change in your dope when you go from glasses to contacts. I would think it would be akin to changing your cheek rest since moving your head with glasses distorts the field of view but contacts do not. (but then again I have no actual experience in what the difference would be.) I wear glasses at work and therefore almost all the time but I find I do much better with contacts when outdoors.
    Are there any rules of thumb or commonly accepted concepts from you High power rifle guys and gals?

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 1, 2009
    Grant County
    The big difference I found for me is when using optics.
    When looking through a scope that I sighted in wearing contacts with glasses, I find that the cross hairs are no longer vertical or completely horizontal. In other words they appear to have moved from the twelve and three o'clock position to one and four.

sloughfoot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Apr 17, 2008
    Huntertown, IN
    I shoot iron sights. About ten years ago when I was 49, I lost my front sight on all my rifles and handguns. I wear readers with a positive 1.5 correction for reading the newspaper and such.

My shooting glasses have the same correction...+1.5 in the right lense. The left lense has no correction for looking through the spotting scope.

BTW, I can easily see the shot spotter at 1000 yards, with bare eyes. but my front sight is blurry.

I can't imagine why there would be a difference between contacts and glasses, but I only know about what I see when looking through iron sights. I don't shoot any scoped rifle. FWIW, guys that I know that wear contact lenses don't wear them when shooting because they float around...?