• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BravoMike

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Nov 19, 2011
    Avon
    I recently bought a bunch of supplies to get into reloading and decided to start off with the Lee Classic Turret. I decided to get the Lee Reloading Manual since it was my understanding that each manufacturer has information specific to their products in their manual. The problem I am having with the Lee manual is that it seems poorly written. I find it hard to follow because the author assumes that I already have some knowledge of reloading or terminology. I am an absolute beginner and when the author uses terms like "headspace" or "bullet run-out" without first explaining what it is, I am lost. Also, there is no glossary to explain these terms. Everytime there is a term like this thrown out I have to put my book down and go do some reading on the Internet to figure out what the heck he is talking about.

Are other reloading manuals this poorly written?

Dr.Midnight

Master
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jul 24, 2011
    Monroe County
    When I first started, I remember thinking the same thing about the manuals. I had to do a lot of research and ask a ton of questions before I got rolling. The best advice I can give you is pick up a copy of 'The ABC's of Reloading'. That book will explain the reloading process more from a beginners standpoint.

For what it's worth, the Lee manual is one of my least favorite ones to use. My recommendation is to pick up Lyman's most recent edition. That's the one I use 90% of the time. Good luck!

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    I don't have the Lee book, I use- Accurate, Speer, Lyman, Hornady and have a copy of the ABC's of reloading.
    I think it's best to have multiple references. Each of these books has a little bit different information in them.