• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jy951

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Feb 18, 2009
    This might be a dumb question, but I was wondering if I could hack a muzzleloader barrel down to less than 16" and use a shoulderstock and be ok? I'm not talking about a T/C encore or any other switch barrel types. Just a generic fixed barrel muzzleloader.

Also, if it's ok, do you think it would be ok to deer hunt with it? I know black powder handguns are allowed.

giovani

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 8, 2012
    Muzzleloaders are sold without a background check or a 4473 , this makes me believe the BATF views them as a none firearm, and therefore they sould not be restricted in this manner.
    However I am not an expert on BATF type laws and would reccomend that you pose the question to them on their website.

KoopaKGB

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 99%
    101   1   0
    Dec 21, 2008
    South Bend
    I regularly see BP pistols, but never thought about a SBR version. Just like an antique I firgured you could SBR it. Good luck hitting anything with it.

.452browning

Master
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Muzzle loaders are not considered firearms federally. Indiana I do not know. I have heard both yes and no. If no then I imagine its good to go.

I get really confused when it comes to muzzle loading shotguns. Since Indiana does not allow SBS, would a Howdah Hunter 20GA with a stock be considered an SBS and therefore illegal in Indiana?

Lafayette Yeti

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 15, 2012
    The problem I see with an SBR ML is that black powder and its substitutes (like Pyrodex) are very slow burning. I don't know that cutting the barrel shorter than 16" would give you enough room to burn the powder that you'd need to kill a deer. I don't know that you wouldn't either, just something to think about.

jy951

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%