• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Scarnucci

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 23, 2009
    IN
    I was looking at this supposed FEMA sample fallout pattern...and things dont look terribly bright for Indiana in case of a nuclear shoot out. Lotsa red.

Now this just apparently shows the weather patterns pulling fallout from western targets over us. It got me thinking though...what, if any, bases in Indiana do you think would be likely targets in such a scenario? Is NSWC Crane gonna get smoked? Atterbury? I've heard Jefferson Proving Grounds is a little more active now-a-days (though I have no firsthand knowledge) What about Ft. Knox? If it gets hit, would that dump fallout on us?

I really have no idea how much of a surrounding area would even be livable after a direct hit. Is everything withing 10 miles dust? 50 miles?

If we are talking about a true TEOTWAWKI scenario...is it silly to worry about someone crossing your back 40? Considering half the state is glowing anyways?

Radioactive_Fallout_Pattern.jpg

indykid

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 27, 2008
    Westfield
    First, a local hit damage area would be determined by the size of the bomb. Most terrorist would not have anything approaching the US or Russian mega-bombs, so witness Hiroshima and how long it took to get back to normal after being hit by a small air burst. A local dirty bomb would be deadly until it rained. As long as our water treatment plants could remove the radioactive material, dirty bombs are only dangerous when you breath the particles.

With any fallout, what I was always taught in the past, is if you get any suspected radioactive dust on you, as long as you don't breath it in, take a shower and wash it off. I seem to remember that from the old duck and cover days of the "Cold War". Wow, am I really that old???????

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 7, 2009