• ...and so much more!
  • nucular

Expert
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 17, 2012
    Brownsburg
    Is this common? One strolled right onto my property yesterday afternoon and took a crap in the front yard. I thought it was odd that it was daytime. It didn't look mangy but maybe a little on the skinny side (maybe they all are? I'm no fox expert).

a0840575-b292-4fd5-832e-49aca476a4de_zpsd52e3d73.jpg

eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN
    Common? Sure. We had one that trotted through the neighborhood every morning at about 10AM, like clockwork.

If there is food, a place to den, and relative safety, there is no reason why you WOULDN'T have foxes.

Edit: just noticed you are in Brownsburg as well. Plenty of wildlife around here. We've had coyotes in the yard, deer, possum, skunks, racoon, etc...

nucular

Expert
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 17, 2012
    Brownsburg
    Interesting. I have not seen any in the 14 years I have lived here. I also saw a pair of pheasants in the backyard a few months ago for the first time ever.

nucular

Expert
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 17, 2012
    Brownsburg
    Ah, maybe. I didn't know they had pheasants as well. I believe it was a pair of females but according to my daughter there was just a pile of feathers out there the next day so I'm guessing maybe coyotes got them.

JokerGirl

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 2, 2012
    NW Indy
    Foxes, like many of our native predators, have become very good at not being seen. With the way humans are, the best thing they can do is stay hidden, hence why it's uncommon to actually see them. They are there, though.

We have a pair of red foxes living under the neighbour's deck, a bobcat (or two) living in the field across the road, and countless coyotes. We have wild turkeys that just walk around that aren't afraid of ya.