• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • iNDy-Josh

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 14, 2009
    Hi everyone, first post here. So here's my dilemma.

I am looking to buy my first pistol, hold on hold on, no this is not a typical thread asking what's the best pistol or asking what I should buy or any of that lol. I already have made up my mind on two but can only afford one at the time.

Alright so I want a kel-tec 9mm for conceal-carry (will be getting the paperwork and everything of course) and I want a FNP-9 as a full-size home defense/range gun. I don't know which to get first though.

The conceal-carry is more practical as I will actually be carrying it day to day and it would be my self-defense in the unfortunate event it was needed. However, it is not really a range gun for its poor accuracy (understandable for size) and recoil. As I am not very experienced with guns I know it's important to hit the range often and get in as much practice as I can but I don't see it happening too much with this gun.

My other choice is to get the FNP-9 first, take it to the range for the next few months, practice with a full-size accurate gun and then get my cc gun later when I can afford it. I guess I just feel dumb buying and owning a gun while in the event I need to use it I won't have it on me...
    ____
    I know this is very much a question of my own preference but thought maybe some of you might have some advice. Perhaps if you own the kel-tec pf-9 and feel its not too terrible for range practice or if you feel very strongly about me getting a good range gun first before owning a cc gun.

Just interested in hearing your opinions. Thanks and hope to join in some discussions around here in the future.

(also if you are really for or against either guns or would like to suggest other options I am very inviting toward this advice!)

x10

Master
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0