• d.kaufman

Still Here
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    130   0   0
    Mar 9, 2013
    Hobart
    So I bought a 72 Starcraft 15' boat with a 85hp johnson outboard motor. Got her cheap and have spent last week getting her cleaned up and ready to put on the lake. I live in Hobart (nwi) and im wanting to know if anyone has a suggestion as to a good lake to try out on. Not looking to go fast, just looking to put her on the water and check everything out. Im only a half mile from lake George, but it seems to be a pretty busy launch. Im completely new to this and i know holding up others is a big no no. Anyone know of a good place that is not busy that i could go to practice launching and reloadin while checking everything out too, no leaks, motor runs good on water, etc. Or is there anyone close that might wanna tag along that is a veteran boater to help guide me and give me some knowledge. Thanks for any help or suggestions

17 squirrel

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 15, 2013
    Suggestion # 1. Install transom drain plug before you back the trailer down the ramp.

Suggestion #2. Bring someone with you that has launched a boat multiple times.

churchmouse

I still care....Really
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    187   0   0
    Dec 7, 2011
    Speedway area
    -Have you ran the motor with the hose adapter (looks like ear muffs with a hose attached) to make sure the water pump is good and the engine will start/idle/engage forward and reverse.
    -Have you checked that the battery is being charged while the engine is running.

These 2 things need to be verified on a boat of that age before you put it in the water and find out those items do not work.

d.kaufman

Still Here
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    130   0   0
    Mar 9, 2013
    Hobart