• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • josh25

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 17, 2010
    Johnson County
    I am a resident in an apartment complex in johnson county. As everyone know we had a pretty good snowfall yesterday morning. When the snow stopped I got out and shoveled my walkway, then started calling the property manager, maintenece, and finally corporate office to find out when i could expect our parking lot to be plowed. This all happened around 2pm. Lastnight the property manager called me and told me he knows I called corporate, and he would not be excepting my rent at the first of the month and I would be evicted. I still have 2 months on my contract and have never been late on rent in three years, nor broke my lease in any other way. My girlfriend who works in the health field could not get out of her parking spot and had to call into work lastnight and by doing so lost her holiday pay for the night before. I dont see how he could legally do this. Im just asking for advice and my rights in this situation. all input will be appreciated thank you.

josh25

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 17, 2010
    Johnson County
    Also as of right now our parking lot has still not been plowed. And frustrated tenants are shoveling as much of the parking lot as they can.

Black Cloud

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 22, 2012
    Brownsburg
    Call corporate again, and let them know what the landlord just said. He has no grounds in this state for this type of behaviour. Then, talk to a lawyer.

Ripper

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Nov 15, 2012
    Earth
    It's not as easy as he's making it out to be when it comes to an eviction. He can however choose not to renew your lease.

I'd call his corporate again and ask what you can do to avoid this eviction, I'm sure they will be just as surprised about it as you

Edit: damn iPad typing.... Everyone beat me to it!

chris46131