Does the manufacture date of a gun matter?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kazaam

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 2, 2012
    Should I try to get a P226 stainless elite with the newest manufacture date I can, or is it not really important/doesnt matter at all?

Is a few months difference a big deal? For example, I can get a new stainless elite p226 with a really recent manufacture date if i wait a bit (out of stock at the site I prefer), or I can wait and get one now, which might have an older (probably a few months difference) manufacture date.

I'm pretty new to all this gun stuff so I'm trying to see if newer = better like it does with a lot of todays stuff.

Last edited:

indyjoe

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    May 20, 2008
    Indy - South
    It sometimes does matter, but often the newest date is not best. Examples include Ruger 10/22. I would argue that older metal triggers are better than the new plastic triggers.

There are also new "features" on guns that can be annoying, such as magazine safeties and the like.

If you are talking a newish released gun, then you can sometimes have two different versions of a gun without really made public, when a manufacturing change fixed a subtle issue. You really need to know about the specific make of gun when that occurs.

asipes

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 7, 2012
    Central Indiana
    There is no blanket answer. You would need to ask a more detailed/specific question with brands/models (and I'm sure you would still get differing opinions).

Birds Away