• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rabbitdave

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 12, 2008
    Zionsville, IN
    I just picked up an ultrasonic cleaner from Harbor Freight and wanted to clean some brass I have. Do I need to de-prime the brass before cleaning it? Can't find anything on this.. Seems like it would make it would be the right thing to do.

Any help for a complete beginner would be welcome.

ZbornacSVT

Owner at Bobcat Armament
    Site Supporter
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Feb 15, 2009
    Shelbyville
    Only if you care about cleaning your flash hole and primer pocket. Otherwise, pop those soggy primers out after the fact.

warthog

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    66   0   0
    Feb 12, 2013
    Vigo County
    Many do, I don't unless I am going to wet tumble them in the stainless media rotary tumbler.

It tend to allow a lot of small bits of corn cob to get stuck in flash holes that then need to be poked out and I am not that worried about how clean the pocket itself is since it really doesn't matter. Once it is all nice and shiny, I poke out the primers, reprime them and reload them. That's my way, and just one of my ways. Ask a hundred reloaders and you'll get at least two hundred methods. :):

indyjohn

PATRIOT
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    78   0   0
    Dec 26, 2010
    In the trees
    I just picked up an ultrasonic cleaner from Harbor Freight and wanted to clean some brass I have. Do I need to de-prime the brass before cleaning it? Can't find anything on this.. Seems like it would make it would be the right thing to do.

Any help for a complete beginner would be welcome.

Competition shooters will say absolutely yes. Plinkers don't care and really if you're not concerned about a half minute POI you shouldn't be either.

Last edited:

U.S. Patriot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 87.5%
    7   1   0
    Jan 30, 2009
    Columbus