• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ThrottleJockey

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 14, 2009
    Between Greenwood and Martinsville
    I've been prepping for a few years now, and recently decided it's about time to focus more on skills. I have found quite a bit of info from a google search about how to cure meat, but would like a bit more "first hand" info/advice. If anyone has experience curing meat, please post here. I'm looking primarily at salt curing methods/smokehouse methods, but any other ideas are welcome.

Eddie

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 28, 2009
    North of Terre Haute
    Rytek Kutas

Look for books by Rytek Kutas. I learned to make sausage from his books. He has everything from smoking to curing to how to make bacon. His books are very well written and have detailed, easy to follow instructions.

Sailor

Master
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    May 5, 2008
    Fort Wayne
    I can my venison, would try curing this year if I could get them to leave the corn fields and walk by my stand.

Canning btw makes the meat easy to prepare and very tasty.

DHolder

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 25, 2009
    Mooresville - MSG2 Hub
    I would like to learn the skills to cure hams and preserve meat as well. Anyone with a working smokehouse?

Would you be willing to reveal your recipe for canning your venison. I had spagetti with burger I dehydrated 10 mos ago, tonight for supper. Id like to deversify.

Eddie

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 28, 2009
    North of Terre Haute
    Smoked Meat

I have smoked meat before. If you are doing it just for flavoring it is no big deal, but if you are using smoking as the promary means of preserving the meat then you need very strict temperature control, eithe rby means of gas, or if you are using wood you have to sit and constantly monitor the fire, adjust the flue and basically babysit it the whole time.

ThrottleJockey