• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mudwater

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 22, 2009
    Wells County
    I have a Savage 10FP in 308. Over the years I have toyed with the idea of changing the barrel myself with the "kits" I have seen. It comes with the barrel, jam nut wrench and a head space gauge. This is possible because on the way Savage assembles the barrel to the receiver. For my 308 the options are 7mm-08, 243 and 22-250. I would want to be able to go back to 308 at times.
    Anyone have any experience with doing this? I know one comment would be to just buy a new rifle but I am just asking for peoples experience with this.
    Thanks

Britton

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Knoxville
    I was "told" that it is a fairly easy project, but I have no personal experience with it. Not much help, but all I know from a seasoned shooter friend that loves his Savage.

hotfarmboy1

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Nov 7, 2008
    Madison County
    I've read an article where a guy built a savage from the ground up, not a gunsmith, in 223 and turned out 1/2" groups at 100 yards without a prob his first time out with it with production ammo. I think you do have other options too. I've been wanting to build a 260 rem on a savage action. It uses the 308 cases just necked down, higher BC for long range shooting, and less recoil than the 308. I'd try to find a barrel in that caliber if I were you. I look to do this someday when I get a savage myself.

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 3, 2008
    central indiana
    swapping the barrel is simple.. I have a 10FP n 308 and a 260 rem bbl made from shaw.
    all you need is vice , wrench , and go guage..
    put new barrel on but not al the way..
    close bolt on go guage, then tighten down brrel on go guage...

lock with nut..
    check wth no go...

308 / 260 is great cause you only need one go/no go set..

mudwater

Plinker