• ...and so much more!
  • KCJarman

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 19, 2011
    Noblesville
    Hello all,

I am fairly new to reloading and I am looking for some advise on bullet selection. I will be loading .40 S&W as well as 357 sig. I have looked into Precision Black Bullets (synthetic coated) as well as Barry's Bullets. I will be using these for Steel / USPSA in a Springfield XD. I have two barrels for it. A 2 port 40 S&W barrel and a Match Grade Springfield 357 (Stock) barrel.

The difference in price between the Barry's and Black Bullets are pretty drastic, but keeping in mind my use for them, do you have a suggestion or different recommendation?

Thank you!!

redneckmedic

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 20, 2009
    Greenfield
    We have been reloading Berry's Copper washed in our glocks now for years. NEVER a single issue. We buy all of the product at the 1500 and save on shipping! That's all I've got. HTH RNM

Rob377

Master
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Dec 30, 2008
    DT
    I've been using Berry's with good results in 357 Sig. They don't like to be pushed faster than 1250fps or so, and they don't like heavy crimping that breaks the plating. Stick with the flat points, the round nose doesn't work well with the limited bearing surface you get with the bottleneck case.

If you want to load 357 Sig to its potential, look into a FMJ/TMJ (not plated) bullet. They'll be even more expensive than the Berry's.

I've used Berry's for 10mm and 45ACP in the past as well.

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Nov 19, 2009
    Central Indiana
    I wouldn't run plated bullets much faster than lead velocity levels. If you want to run them fast and hot, buy FMJ bullets.

Addition: