• ...and so much more!
  • Sarrsipius

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 14, 2012
    North side of Indy
    Bullet setback. help. what's wrong?

I'm new to reloading and started setting up my dies and I'm having trouble with bullet setback. Here is the setup.

Hornady LNL AP using Hornady new dimension 3 die set with taper crimp and bullet seater single die. (9mm lugar)

sizing die is set to where it just contacts the shell plate.

expander die puts just enough bell to set a bullet in the casing (can hardly see any bell with the naked eye).

Seater/crimper die set to 1.100 bullet depth per load data. (Accurate #5, 115gr fmj)

When I chamber a round in my glock 17 I get between .002 and .012 OAL bullet setback. It's on the high end of that range when I chamber a round that has no powder in it but I've gotten as much as .010 with a live round.

There is no further adjustment I can make with the sizing die and I can't do less of a bell with the expander. I played around with the crimp but if I go much more than the current setting it leaves a ring in the FMJ bullet. I know that the crimp isn't to hold the bullet but the sizing die seems to be set correctly so I'm at a loss as to what else to do. I haven't fired any of these rounds yet so I'm unsure if I'll see even more setback when the gun cycles off of a live round.

Is this much setback a problem???

Last edited:

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    Strip the pistol, use the barrel as a depth guage. Start seating the bullet and drop it in the barrel, keep adjusting the depth until the end of the case is flush or just below the hood of the barrel.

XtremeVel

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Feb 2, 2010
    Fort Wayne
    First thing I would question is what diameter your expander ball / plug is... The high end of what you state does sound excessive, especially if they are seating that much deeper with only (1) chambering.