• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • djl02

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Sep 18, 2009
    Indiana
    Man. How hard do you have to smack these things to get the bullet out?
    I was setting My die and took 9 trys to get it exactly precise.Hey Im new to all this.Picked up a bullet puller and,I'm afraid I'm gonna break this thing before I get the first bullet pulled.Is this normal? There not crimped. I'm trying to pull 168 gr.SMK .308 Any advice?

The Keymaster

Master
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Mar 12, 2010
    Manistee County, MI
    It depends on what you hit it on. If I hit mine on the wood portion of the bench it takes a few tries. If I hit it on the 1/2" steel block that I use for stamping it works first time every time.

djl02

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Sep 18, 2009
    Indiana
    Thanks.I was smacking it on the bench as well,pretty hard... nothing. Went out side and hit it on a stump and walla out it came ,half the force,I guess I'll have to find something with end grain. Panicked to soon.LOL thanks

XtremeVel

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Feb 2, 2010
    Fort Wayne
    Thanks.I was smacking it on the bench as well,pretty hard... nothing. Went out side and hit it on a stump and walla out it came ,half the force,I guess I'll have to find something with end grain. Panicked to soon.LOL thanks

Yes, the kinetic puller works well... For a mistake or two. Now, if someone gives me a quanity of questionable loads and I want to salvage components, I prefer the hornady cam-lock puller that uses collets. I have a cheap single stage set up for this purpose only.

ROLEXrifleman

Master
    Rating - 100%
    55   0   0
    Feb 7, 2009
    NW Indiana