Bringing my Grandpa's guns from Ohio to Indiana. . .

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • salamander42

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 16, 2009
    Indianapolis
    I have no idea if a situation like this has been covered before. . . I can't even really think of how to effectively search for a similar thread. . .

My Grandfather passed away about 2 years ago, and I was wondering what I would need to do to legally bring a couple of his guns home with me. He lived in Ohio, and I'm a 10 year resident of Indiana. I do have my LTCH, if that makes any difference. The guns are legally my Grandma's, I suppose, since they weren't specifically mentioned in a will or anything as far as I know. I don't even know what all he still had in his safe. . . While I'm really curious abut it, it just hasn't been a high priority on the few visits that I've been able to make these last couple of years. Could I just bring them home with me, or do I need to send them to a FFL here in Indiana? Does my grandma need to do anything? I'll be visiting over Christmas weekend, and if nothing else, I'm going to see if we can open up the safe and see what's in there. I'm hoping to be able to bring something home with me.

Thanks in advance for any help that anyone can give.

Clay

Grandmaster
    Rating - 98.8%
    81   1   0
    Aug 28, 2008
    Vigo Co
    *Technically* they are out of state and need to be transfered through an FFL on a 4473. You can go get them, take them to the FFL of your choice in either IN or OH and do the transfer, but I would use an IN FFL just for the ease of it.