As someone relatively new to handguns...

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mwmroll

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 4, 2012
    Indianapolis
    What should I be working on at the range? I can handle myself around an M4 thanks to the Army but generally have never practiced much with a handgun. I have about 300 rounds through my M&P 9 and can easily hit center mass at 25 yards and 2" group at 15 yards. I'd love to take a class but I am a poor student. I would love to eventually shoot IDPA or USPSA. Actually I just love going to the range and seeing improvement in whatever I am focusing on. So what should my next range trip focus on. More 'basics', speed, distance? Any advise appreciated. Thanks INGO.

TheAutomator

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Dec 30, 2008
    If you're just starting out, you shouldn't try doing anything fast. You should be mastering the fundamentals, sight picture and trigger press.

In my opinion, the most important thing for you to master in the beginning is good gun handling.

I'm a little biased, but look into taking the Intro to Force on Force from Mindset Lab. It's not exactly marksmanship training, but what it will help do is illuminate what you need to focus on in your ongoing training, both personal and professional.

the1kidd03

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 19, 2011
    somewhere