• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • reload4ever

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 29, 2009
    My son and I went to the range over the holiday weekend to shoot my new ar. Please keep in mind that i am fairly new to the world of black guns and it took some coaxing from my son to purchase my first ar it is an A3 configuration. The first ten to fifteen rounds went through it without any problems and then it started. The bolt wouldnt quite go all the way into battery once or maybe twice took it apart at the range didn't see anything obstructing the chamber or anything wrong with the bolt. So tried it again and click, nothing. Kicked that round out and cycled another one in and it looked like the bolt was closed and boom! The bottom of the magazine separated from the magazine the spring popped out along with the four remaining rounds and the bolt was stuck forward. Took the gun home got the bolt out and the extracter was bent the shell casing was ballooned at the base and there didn't appear to be any damage to the chamber or upper reciever. I've read about this happening to others and was wanting input as to what may have happened and what should be done to see that it doesn't happen again. The ammo was store bought and i've used it for years in my bolt guns without any problems. Oh yeah, this was not its maiden voyage it has had approximately 120 rounds through it. any input would be appreciated

reload4ever

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 29, 2009
    Bought it from a friend of my son who said it was a kit gun it has a dpms lower but the barrel had no markings.

sloughfoot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Apr 17, 2008
    Huntertown, IN
    Get thee and thy rifle to a gunsmith at the soonest. Something is keeping your ammo from fully chambering. Or possibly a firing pin problem. Is it a slam fire, or did you pull the trigger and it went boom?