• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Lebowski

Master
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jun 6, 2013
    Between corn and soybean fields.
    I bought a Baofeng BF-F9 V2+ and a 16" whip antenna for it for myself for Christmas, it's something I've been wanting to get into for a long time. Currently reading "HAM Radio for dummies" and trying to get prepared for a license test so I can properly use the things. I know this is a very basic and bottom floor entry level setup, but was wondering if anyone here is into ham radio?

I've got access to 30' boom that I plan on mounting on my back porch and attaching a 6' Diamond x50a base antenna on it in the coming month as I've got some hills around here and am hoping to get better distance on that setup. I'm new to all of this and am hoping to learn a lot this year. Anyone in southern Indiana into this? There are no radio clubs near me that I can tell so it's sort of hard to find people local who are into this. If you're in south (eastern) Indiana or in the Ohio valley region let me know and we can test setups or something. I've yet to find any frequencies with actual chatter on it, only NOAA weather stations and the frequency the local school district uses for bus drivers. Police, fire and EMS are all on trunked systems I can't access and doesn't appear that any local repeaters have people chatting on them from what I can tell.

My goal is to have a 50 mile range at least, which would have me hitting repeaters in Louisville, outside of Cincy down into Frankfort, KY and up to Columbus, Indiana. Unsure how realistic that goal is though....

Eventually I'll replace the radio with something more appropriate but it'll work for now I s'pose.

Mr Evilwrench

Quantum Mechanic
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 18, 2011
    Carmel