• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • vxtip

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jul 23, 2008
    West of somewhere
    i got my bachelors degree in criminal justice a little over a year ago, got a job doing security, its been a rollercoaster of drama and corruption i never thought i'd have to experience. But i guess thats inevitable with the quality of people they hired and how i've seen the company run. I appreciate having a job, and things have really smoothed out so the work isnt too bad, although i guess thats subjective because most people are amazed ive lasted there so long, so maybe it is a terrible job. If it payed more i'd be ok i guess, but if i wasn't still living at home i would be living in poverty on these wages so i need something more. Anyway, i don't know what i was thinking all through college but it never really occurred to me the degree was sorta worthless, i just wanted to get "a" degree, because i've always been told having the degree is the important part...

Well now i've got the degree but they never told us much about what jobs were available, how to go by getting them or how to pursue the right path to move up to, and they sure as hell didn't mention that every single job that is looking for a college degree wants several years of related work experience to go with it...It kind of has me flustered, the only jobs seem to be corrections, policing, probation, course security/loss prevention, and some paralegal stuff. I'm interested in social work or counseling but my degree doesn't seem to be very useful for it, i've looked into paralegal jobs but they want experience or law degrees :/