• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • melensdad

Grandmaster
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Far West Suburban Lowellabama
    If this lives up to the hype, this has huge potential for helping to reduce our individual dependance upon the power grid. This is literally a breakthrough in wind energy. I've been pricing small wind generators for the past 2 or 3 years, all of them I've priced are far LESS efficient and far MORE costly (typically $12 to $15 thousand dollars). This unit is $4500 for the rotor and the controller. 2 rotors can be combined and run through 1 controller box, that is even more economical!

I'm going to be watching closely, but if this thing is remotely close to its potential then I may well put up 2 of them. I've already switched my home to CFL lighting to increase efficiency but there is little I can do to increase the efficiency of things like my well pump, refrigerators, microwave, ovens, etc. This could offset enough of the power draw from daily use to pay back its cost in only 2 or 3 years!!! That is astounding.

Here is an article from C|Net:
    Small wind turbine works at low wind speeds
    by Martin LaMonica
    Small wind turbine works at low wind speeds | Green Tech - CNET News

Homeowners this fall will be able to buy a wind turbine at hardware stores that tackles the small wind industry's bete noire: slow wind.
    WindTronics, based in Muskegon, Mich., has developed a wind turbine sized for individual homes that it says can operate at speeds as low as 2 miles an hour.

It will be sold for $4,500 as the Honeywell Wind Turbine and distributed through Ace Hardware stores in the U.S. starting in October. WindTronics developed the turbine and licensed the technology to buildings systems giant Honeywell.