• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gamer

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 16, 2015
    Fort Wayne
    Hello, I got a buddy who is a big hunter but never really got into handguns before now. He just got approved for his lifetime LTCH and will hopefully be an INGO member soon. He is looking for a good gun to carry and really wants it to have a thumb safety. He was looking at the Walther CCP but with complaints about the trigger and difficulty to take down and put back together he is rethinking his plan. Keep in mind he is a handgun newbie. S&W shield is another option he is considering. I'm no handgun expert but I do own a few. So I'm turning to you for advice.

Qualities he wants:

1. Carry inside the waistband
    2. thumb safety
    3. 9mm
    4. good to carry and fun at the range
    5. looking at subcompacts but any size is in option
    6. Doesn't want a revolver, prefers striker fire but not a must

Please share your thoughts and why you recommend. Thanks,

Tactically Fat

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Oct 8, 2014
    Indiana
    I'd recommend an M&P compact before a Shield. Sub-compact guns like the Shield, even though it's not "small" in a "Ruger LCP sense" aren't really beginner guns. The smaller the gun is - the harder it is to shoot well (generally speaking)

There's also some FN products that fill the bill, as well as the Ruger SR9 compact.

Just about any of those would make FINE first guns.

Get him into a firearm first. Make SURE he invests in a quality holster (or 4) and a quality belt (or two). AND TRAINING. Working on getting him to not want a thumb safety will come - in time. :D

masterdekoy

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    56   0   0
    Feb 12, 2013
    Columbus