• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Amac91

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 27, 2012
    NWI
    I see a lot of bulk 5.45x39 surplus ammo for very cheap and I've been looking for an affordable small caliber rifle to shoot with and this seems most economical. Does anyone have any recommendations on quality affordable guns in this caliber? A good AK74 type is what I'm seeing most but I'm new to this so I thought I'd ask.

40calPUNISHER

Master
    Rating - 99.1%
    116   1   0
    Apr 23, 2008
    The surplus ammo may still be cheap but the mags are starting to sky rocket and becoming harder to find. As far as rifles go, buying a Saiga 5.45 sporter and converting it yourself is the cheapest way to get into a quality rifle. Saiga .223 AK Conversion - 1 Many "how to" videos and sites out there to help walk you through it. I'd stay away from the Polish Tantals because there is a chance you get a bad one that keyholes. Century are ok but most have canted front sights. I highly recommend going the Saiga conversion route. WASR-2 is another budget ak that I wouldnt be afraid of buying. There is a Waffen Werks in the classifies right now that I would jump on if I didnt just get a Saiga to convert.

Last edited:

Amac91

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 27, 2012
    NWI
    The conversions doesn't look that difficult but I would be concerned that I'd make a mistake. I'm seeing the Saiga 5.45 models for around 350$. That seems to be a pretty good price to me and I think it might just be the best way to go.

TheUziButton

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    41   0   0
    Mar 28, 2011
    Perhaps a 5.45 AR...
    2011OctShoot_AR545_01.jpg

2011OctShoot_AR545_03.jpg

Amac91

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 27, 2012
    NWI
    That's quite a bit more than I'd like to spend (700$ for the upper + don't have an AR). I'm a college student so I'm all about affordability

Clay

Grandmaster