• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • fniman

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 6, 2009
    I'm almost ready to buy a battle rifle but I need some help. My gun owning friends have AR's and AK's and there is one Mini 14. Not wanting to look like a follower, I'm looking at .308's. The more I've read the more my head has spun. M1A1 vs FAL, milled vs stamped, DSA vs CETME, buy online or in a store plus how does it fit with 922r. I need to stay under $1000 but I don't want to buy a piece of crap that will need gunsmithing to fire. I don't need all the bells and whistles just a good weapon.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Chris

clt46910

Master
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 4, 2008
    Akron Indiana
    I am not experienced in them, so I am the wrong person to ask. Soon someone that knows them will show up and give you good answers. I am an M1A and M-14 person.

paddling_man

Master
    Rating - 100%
    36   0   0
    Jul 17, 2008
    Fishers
    Not an "FAL guy" but DSA has the best reputation. Unfortunately, your not going to get a DSA manufactured FAL for <$1000.

The surplus Austrian STG-58 has a good reputation. I think they list for over $1000 on the DSA site but you should call them... the website prices aren't set in stone.

Jack Ryan

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 2, 2008
    I'm almost ready to buy a battle rifle but I need some help. My gun owning friends have AR's and AK's and there is one Mini 14. Not wanting to look like a follower, I'm looking at .308's. The more I've read the more my head has spun. M1A1 vs FAL, milled vs stamped, DSA vs CETME, buy online or in a store plus how does it fit with 922r. I need to stay under $1000 but I don't want to buy a piece of crap that will need gunsmithing to fire. I don't need all the bells and whistles just a good weapon.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Chris