• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • yankeetownboy

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 12, 2010
    Brownsburg, in
    Hey, Looking for a first CCW. I've come to the conclusion to start with a Revolver, I have some limited handgun experience and they were revolver. I also want a semi in the near future, but realize . #1.. I need to practice with it
    #2.. These things need to be broke in , I can acomplish both at same time
    #3 Although I think I'm a really smart fool, a revolver is almost foolproof.

I am out in public almost all day every day with my job, so lite and comfortable is a big desire. also I want to pick a caliber that I can cross to semi auto and even long guns in the future so I don't end up with every caliber in the books.

Let the opinions begin, :)

edg

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Jul 23, 2008
    1 o'clock on the 465 dial
    S&W 637. Carry is versatile ankle, pocket or IWB. There are others in the line with shrouded hammer for no snag draw. Doesnt cross over well to semi but can get rifles in that caliber.

edg

Joe Williams

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 26, 2008
    I personally prefer revolvers to semi-autos. I like the ability to use several different types of ammo without worrying about jamming. I like not being dependant on magazines. I like they way they feel, look and function.

But a small snubby is hard to shoot well. When I say I like revolvers, I like 3"-4" revolvers. Don't care much for snubbies, personally. They can be unpleasant to shoot, sights can suck, and for the size, you can get an XD9sc, M&P 9c, or Glock 26 and have more rounds on tap in easier to shoot packages.

As for a revolver in a round that will carry over to a semi-auto, the only current production revolver I can think of is the S&W 625 in .45 ACP. And it's a big gun, certainly no snubby!

wtfd661

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Dec 27, 2008
    North East Indiana