• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jed

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 22, 2008
    Yes!! there is gold in Indiana! I am President of Central Indiana Gold Prospectors Association of America.:patriot:
    I have been prospecting in Indiana for 19 years now... and with last summers major flood event {June 7th} new "flood gold" has been released from the banks in quantities not seen here for over 100 years.
    You can learn more about our group including meeting dates and outings here... Central_Indiana_GPAA : Gold Prospectors Association of America
    Our next meeting is March 21st at Morgan Monroe State forest. There is excellent gold in this area. Normally you need a gold panning permit, but I have applied for and received a group permit from March 20-22nd so its open to the general public... and you won't need your own permit. Equipment will be available for purchase including pans, vials, etc...
    Only gold pans, classifiers, and a garden trowel may be used inside the forestry... but I found more gold there with these simple tools than I did running a four inch dredge with Hooka air last year.
    If you wish to return and gold pan after the outing you can get your own free panning permit (765) 342-4026 its good for six months... simply tell them where to mail it to.
    We are about to have some new rules come into effect from the Natural Resource Commission {they make the DNR rules and regulations} for "Recreational Prospecting" in both navigable and non-navigable rivers and streams. We will go over these new rules at 5pm March 21st at the shelter house in M.M.S.F.
    If you have any questions I can be reached at 317-242-9921

smokingman

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 11, 2008
    Indiana