• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Willegene

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 5, 2014
    South Indy
    I am fairly new to guns but it seems like some hold their value or even gain value while others are just another used gun.
    As I start to build my collection I would love to pick some up that will hold their value over the next 10 - 20 years.

What are some key thing I should be looking for?
    I know a good well know brand
    What about caliber, style.....

Thanks for any help or information you can provide

BogWalker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jan 5, 2013
    It's a toss up when it comes to new production guns. Large rises in value are generally due to the model going out of production (such as with some old S&W) or the company lowering production standards (which is why pre-64 Winchesters are so desireable).

I'd say S&W revolvers, high-end Ruger rifles such as the Ruger No. 1, and Colt handguns perhaps.

This is just my opinion, however, and you should wait for some others before making a purchase.

JollyMon

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Sep 27, 2012
    Westfield, IN
    I'll go the opposite route, what do liberals hate the most and what will be hardest to obtain if they ever succeed in passing another ban. History tells us after the first AWB, the price of those pre-ban weapons skyrocketed.

indiucky

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Ruger, Smith and Wesson, and Colt all have huge followings and numerous varities of firearms and a constantly changing line up...This makes for natural collectability..(Products/Innovation/Fan base) These three motivators are what drive up prices...Watch for Lipseys/RSR/Ellet Brothers etc...Special runs of these brands (i.e. Lipsey's may place an order with Ruger for 800 special edition variants of a popular weapon, i.e. a GP 100, Blackhawk, etc....) if you want to collect new guns...