• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bigus_D

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 5, 2008
    Country Side
    If the 911 call response is truly the reason for forcing entry into a house, then should they have to ignore the bag of dope on the table once it is established that the 911 call was accidental or a mistake on the dispatch/phone system end? I say there shouldn't be any arrests made.

From another thread: https://www.indianagunowners.com/fo...e_cops_show_up_at_my_house_the_other_day.html

This comment sparked a thought for me. Where is the line? I totally agree, an unrelated emergency call (think heart-attack) should not result in an arrest (think bag of pot on the coffee table).

But, what if I'm a cop responding to an errantly reported 911 call address and I stumble across a some people trapped under the stairs (think 'The People Under the Stairs' circa 1990)? Does the murderer/rapists/whatever get to go free and keep the kids under the stairs?

How should this line be drawn?

hornadylnl

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 19, 2008
    From another thread: https://www.indianagunowners.com/fo...e_cops_show_up_at_my_house_the_other_day.html

This comment sparked a thought for me. Where is the line? I totally agree, an unrelated emergency call (think heart-attack) should not result in an arrest (think bag of pot on the coffee table).

But, what if I'm a cop responding to an errantly reported 911 call address and I stumble across a some people trapped under the stairs (think 'The People Under the Stairs' circa 1990)? Does the murderer/rapists/whatever get to go free and keep the kids under the stairs?

How should this line be drawn?

When it comes to laws, I hate grey areas. I want black and white everywhere possible. Where do you draw a line in this case? I don't know.