My Akita dog just got pneumonia from crop dust?!?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • melensdad

Grandmaster
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Far West Suburban Lowellabama
    The real farmer (I am only a hobby farmer) who harvested the soybean field that borders my property raised up all sorts of dust. That is common during the harvesting of soybeans. He harvested the field a few days ago.

Last night Misha, our aging Akita, who is taking prednisone (an immuo-suppresant drug) started coughing during the night. Took her to the vet this morning and I was more worried that she had something caught in her throat than anything else. They kept her for the morning to run tests and did some x-rays, etc. Turns out that she has pneumonia. As she is an old dog (11.5 years in a breed that often only lives about 10-12 years) she spends most of her days resting inside. This a dog who used to love being outside, now goes out, does her business, and comes back inside without prompting. So we couldn't figure out how she could have gotten pneumonia.

Turns out that crop dust is a major cause of the condition. There are other causes, but none of them seem to make sense. So we, and the vet, high suspect that crop dust from the soybeans may have caused this.

So, if you live out in the farmland areas, and have a older dog, it might be something to watch out for, or simply be aware of.

Prognosis for Misha's recovery is very good.

Just posting this FYI.

KLB

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Sep 12, 2011
    Porter County